live   -   raster noton, kvitnu, editions mego / kuopio, finland

home    press    biography    audio/ video    pictures    dates    tech rider   

The New Noise, October 2018

Ilpo Väisänen (Kuopio,1963, Finlandia) è conosciuto soprattutto per essere stato uno dei due fondatori dei Pan Sonic assieme a Mika Vainio, ma anche per le sue collaborazioni con Bruce Gilbert, Alan Vega, Schneider TM e Oren Ambarchi. Sotto gli alias di Liima, Piiri e I-LP-O In Dub, Väisänen ha creato produzioni molto differenti, ma quella che appare come una costante è la sua passione per il costruire le parti ritmiche, mantenendo tuttavia sempre saldo un approccio concettuale, sperimentale e radicalmente ispirato.

Fact Mag, September 2018

Pan Sonic’s Ilpo Väisänen has announced the release of a new full-length ÄÄNET, the first under his new moniker I-LP-ON. The album is set for release on Editions Mego. The project is a homage to Pan Sonic, the influential electronic outfit he founded alongside Sami Salo and electronic music icon Mika Vainio, who died last year. ÄÄNET channels the industrial, ambient, dub and club-orientated sounds Pan Sonic absorbed over two decades.

Fact Mag, September 2017

Pan Sonic’s Ilpo Väisänen and Dirk Dresselhaus (aka Schneider TM) have announced Entropien I, a new album dedicated to Pan Sonic partner Mika Vainio, who died earlier this year.
Released under the name die ANGEL (an updated name to their Angel project), the album is described as an attempt to “break down the soul of noise” and features multi-instrumentalist Oren Ambarchi on two tracks.

Fact Mag, March 2017

Capital Dub Chapter 1 will be released under Väisänen’s I-LP-O In Dub alias, which he debuted in 2015 with the Communist Dub album, also released on Editions Mego.
The new album was inspired by the first part of Karl Marx’s Capital, and according to the label the LP’s “‘circular riddims’ complement the ebb and flow of the circulation of money and commodities.”

Resident Advisor, July 2016

A rare solo record from the former Pan Sonic member will come through Kvitnu in October. Due out in early October, Syntetisaattori Musiikkia Kuopiosta is, according to the label, "strongly connected to the place where it was written and recorded: Kuopio." It's described as "not a long album," comprising nine "very varied and rather short" tracks connected without gaps, and it'll come on limited-edition 12-inch vinyl in a sleeve with artwork using "special elements," as usual for Kvitnu.

Resident Advisor, March 2015

Ilpo Väisänen presents Communist Dub
The I-LP-O In Dub alias finds Väisänen experimenting with spacious dub soundscapes once again, offering the listener the choice "to be pummelled into submission or to reflect on their situation," according to the press release. Despite the abstract nature of this music, the political themes behind Communist Dub are pointed, referencing revolution in the Ukraine and Libya. The label says "Communist Dub is a ruthless criticism of everything existing, but one ultimately tempered by hope."

Recent Posts

Music Map - il tuo sito di informazione musicale

Italian review of the new album by gudrun gut …Massive Attack fate largo! Per gli amanti dell’elettronica d’alta scuola, “Moment” è un piatto succulento!

3 Likes, 0 KommentareVor 1 Tag

Lucrecia Dalt & Alessandra Leone unveil their live a/v collaboration at Rewire 2019

Lucrecia Dalt and light artist Alessandra Leone /Alessandra AiKia Werkstatt in Den Hague on March 31st

2 Likes, 0 KommentareVor 2 Tagen


Frank Bretschneider in Dresden on Friday, March 22nd

5 Likes, 0 KommentareVor 3 Tagen


4 Likes, 0 KommentareVor 3 Tagen

Mo Loschelder in London from March 28th – 31st. During the weekend where Brexit was originally expected 3 artists from Media Loca roster will perform: March 29th – Midori Hirano @ Erased Tapes Celebrates Piano Day 2019 March 30th – Lucrecia Dalt and #JanJelinek..

2 Likes, 0 KommentareVor 6 Tagen

  • December Dates with MEDIA LOCA : Charlemagne Palestine : Sat, 02. Dec 2017 Mühlheim an der Ruhr (DE) Shiny Toys Festival Electric Indigo : Fri, 01. Dec 2017 Linz (AT) UNTEN, DJ Set Fri, 08. Dec 2017 Rome (IT) Largo, 5 1 1 5 9 3 live Fri, 29. Dec 2017 Tel Aviv-Jaffa (IL) Alphabet, DJ
  • Summer break is over! Full September for Media Loca artists : ELECTRIC INDIGO Sat, 02. Sep 2017 Hamburg (DE) Resonanzraum, Big Data Weekend Fri, 08. Sep 2017 Eupen (BE) Meakusma Festival, 5 1 1 5 9 3 live [stereo version] Sat, 23. Sep 2017 Schwaz / Innsbruck (AT) Klangspuren Festival, 109.47 degrees Live + DJ S
  • Coming up in June : June 14th ELECTRIC INDIGO – „Ableton User Group“ presentation @ Panke, DE-Berlin June 15th – 18th ACID MARIA – „Remix Regenedered“ workshop @ Rheinische Fachhochschule, DE-Cologne June 16th PATRICK PULSINGER live w/ Irl @ Grelle Forelle, AT-Vienna Ju
  • Rafael Anton Irisarri w/ Carsten Nicolai and Riuichi Sakamoto : Only a few days ago Rafael Anton Irisarri has been working w/ Ryuichi Sakamoto 坂本龍一 & alva not @ Phillip Johnson Glass House, engineering for a very intimate concert.